

RULES COMMITTEE REPORT

To: Commissioners of the Interstate Commission for Adult Offender Supervision

From: Mary Kay Hudson, Chair, Rules Committee and Commissioner, State of

Indiana

Rules Committee Members

Mary Kay Hudson (IN), Chair, Commissioner Dori Littler (AZ), Vice-chair, Commissioner Amber Schubert (AR), Commissioner Chris Moore (GA), Commissioner Susan Gagnon (ME), Commissioner Amy Vorachek (ND), Commissioner Robert Maccarone (NY), Commissioner Christian Stephens (PA), Commissioner Timothy Strickland (FL), ex-officio, DCA Tracy Hudrlik (MN), Ex-officio, DCA Margaret Thompson (PA), Ex-officio, DCA Patricia Odell (WY), Ex-officio, DCA Thomas Travis, Legal Counsel

Mission

Administer the Commission's rulemaking procedures and objectively review or develop rule change proposals as appropriate.

Goals

- Review rule amendment proposals and make recommendations to the proposing entity to adopt, revise, or withdraw, as appropriate.
- Review public comment on proposed rules.
- Present the proposed rule amendments for Commission's consideration at the 2023 Annual Business Meeting.
- Review prevailing issues to determine rule amendment needs.

Committee Actions

Following the 2021 Annual Business Meeting, the committee met on the following dates:

- February 17, 2022
- June 8, 2022

The Rules Committee adopted its 2022 goals, adding a fourth goal to "review prevailing issues to determine rule amendment needs." This reflects the Committees long standing practice of accepting requests to review current rules for clarity and intent.

The Committee also adopted the FY 2022-2023 ICAOS Rule Committees Calendar.

At the request of Commissioner Godfrey (MN), the committee reviewed Rule 2.110 to clarify its intent regarding a state's obligation to issue a compact compliant warrant. To aid in its discussion, the committee requested a legal opinion from ICAOS General Counsel Travis regarding what event in the transfer process triggers the requirements for a state to issue compact compliant warrants. The committee will discuss the general counsel's analysis at its November meeting.

The committee established a workgroup to examine issues related to differences in tolling practices among state and provide recommendations regarding ICOTS, training, or rule revisions. Commissioner D. Littler (AZ) serves as chair. Commissioner R. Maccarone (NY), Commissioner A. Vorachek (ND), Commissioner C. Stephens (PA), and DCA T. Strickland (FL) volunteered to serve on the workgroup. The workgroup is scheduled convene next after the annual business meeting.

Respectfully Submitted,

Mary Kay Hudson

Mary Kay Hudson Rules Committee Chair Commissioner, Indiana